top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMorgan

Finding a Home

Updated: Dec 19, 2021

"Where is home for you?" throughout the past two months, I traveled through about nine different states, prayed in many churches, and have stayed in a few homes along the way.

In September, my friend Kim, who is a missionary with me at Family Missions Company, invited me to a healing retreat sponsored by the JPII Healing Society. We made a little road trip out of our trip to Nebraska by visiting our families, attending a wedding, and seeing various friends along the way. I am so grateful for the chance to dive deeper into this inner healing journey that the Lord is inviting me on.


But home. In prayer, I have reflected on this question that was asked by many people along our journey. Where is home? The answer wasn't as simple as my home town.


In John 14:2-3, the Lord speaks to us about this very question,

"In my Father's house there are many rooms; if it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you."

Our heavenly Father has already prepared a home for us! This place He has prepared is somewhat accessible here on earth through the holy mass. Through the holy mass, we experience a glimpse into the goodness that He has set aside for each of us.

Along our journey to Nebraska, we stopped in many parishes for daily mass. I reflected deeper on His desire to delight in me as a child of God and experience this home in Him.


Many of us naturally associate home with a place, but it is so much more than that. Finding a home is about finding rest, feeling loved, and fed.


The Lord placed a specific vision on my heart during the healing retreat. I envisioned Jesus sitting on the counter waiting for me in a place where the walls and floors were white. As I walked in, I was so excited to see this place Jesus had prepared for me but was confused why it was such a plain room, for I thought it was going to be extravagant.


As the vision continued, I asked Jesus why the home He had for me was so plain! His reply was, "Because you are in my house when you are in my house, I want you to know that I delight in you and I care about what you think! Help me to decorate it!" This struck me. The Father had prepared this place for me, but I was free to decorate it and make it uniquely mine.

I felt as though it was safe to rest in the Lord, loved by His eagerness to delight in me, and fed through His words. Finding a home in Jesus fulfilled my needs and allowed me to

rest, feel loved, and fed.

The Lord has prepared a place for you in churches around the world. I challenge you to seek this place He has for you! Find comfort in knowing that He delights in you and desires your heart. Finding a home in Jesus can fulfill your needs and allow you to rest, feel loved, and be fed by Him.

84 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page