top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMorgan

Wait, You Are Doing What?

Updated: Dec 19, 2021

The title of this blog is a question that I have been getting constantly for the past few months but hey, here is the answer.


Last year, I attended Kansas State University to study Journalism and Media. My time at K-State was fantastic. I loved everything about my major, the people, and campus. Although, I heard this quote a while at school that I am just now beginning to relate to.


"If you want to make God laugh, tell Him your plans."


Lets just say, God has probably been hysterically laughing at me for about a year now. After graduation, my "plan" was to follow the typical social norms to attend K-State, get a good job, and start my life. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that plan but the Lord was calling me towards a more joyful life!


Over spring break, I went on a mission trip to Honduras that lead me to becoming a missionary for the Wichita Diocese Totus Tuus program. Through both of these experiences, I was finding eminence joy in serving others and preaching the truth. It became very clear through prayer that the desires of my heart were not to attend K-State but to serve the Lord.


Now


Since September 9th, I have been living in the great swamps of Louisiana with Family Missions Company. (https://www.familymissionscompany.com/) FMC is a Catholic lay missionary group that welcomes families and singles to share the faith and serve the poor around the world. Here at Big Woods, there is a community of missionaries who are either resting from serving abroad, feel called to help form other missionaries, or are going through the "Intake" program to become a full time missionary. "Intake" is when lay people (families or singles) come and live in community here at Big Woods and go through a three month training period to be more equip to spread the love of Jesus in another country.


For the next (at least) six months, I am going through a missionary discipleship program. During this internship program, I will work alongside stateside missionaries as they support our missionaries around the world, train new ones, and help with other projects and ministries here in the U.S. I am also placed with a beautiful family that will be leading me in formation during my time here.


This past week I have had the opportunity to help prepare for the Intake singles and family whom just arrived this past weekend! Some fellow missionaries and I have been preparing the houses, getting groceries, and praising Jesus for all of the ways He worked to make it possible. Now, we are entering into a season of learning and diving deeper into the community here at Big Woods.


I am in need of your help and prayers because as I am entering into this missionary lifestyle I am called to live "Gospel poverty." Therefore, I am not being paid as a missionary, rather I have the gift to fund raise my expenses. This includes living, food, flights, and maybe a trip to Mexico! It is such a gift to have the opportunity to fund my expenses because it allows mission partners to walk on this mission too!


I invite you to become a mission partner so that you can also live the mission that Christ calls each of us to! As Christians we are called to proclaim the good news to the ends of the earth! The Lord wants to transform our hearts and minds to build His kingdom of glory!



In the joyful love of Christ,


Morgan




98 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page